I yearn to do something for more than a paycheck or just because I’m supposed to be doing something

If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up the men to gather wood,
divide the work and give orders. Instead, teach them to yearn for the
vast and endless sea.

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

8 Responses to “I yearn to do something for more than a paycheck or just because I’m supposed to be doing something”

  1. i like that quote. i really want to teach like sentence #2. sometimes i don’t know how to.

  2. So what do you yearn for Stephen?

  3. Well hold on now….how big a paycheck are we talking? 😉

  4. Yeah Stephen, what do you yearn for? What are you passionate about?Then a very important follow up question, once you’ve answered those, is “Can I put bacon on my table to feed my kids if I do that all the time?”Just a thought from someone who spent 22 years putting bacon on the table before he got to do his passion “full-time”. I did it part-time until then.

  5. I think David makes a good point, There are times when you can only afford to do it part time (Or god knows that you are not ready to do it full time)I wish that I had a Job that made me want to get out of bed in the morning again.

  6. RYC: yes, this is the same texas ya’ll are in.  🙂  i’m in austin right now and am having lunch with sabrina tomorrow.  it’s nice to be back in texas.

Leave a Reply

