I’m not really back on xanga, at least not officially.  I think it’s bad for my health. 

So my parents didn’t come into Houston yesterday.  Delta recently started offering flights directly from New York to Accra, Ghana, and when the plane was about 2 hours out of New York, it had to turn back because of mechanical problems, so there was no plane on which they could flight out of Ghana.  In a few hours I’ll be taking them to my grandparents’ house about 80 miles south of Houston. 

Yesterday I emailed my Brazilian manager where I worked until I left last summer.  When I called him this morning, he was his usual upbeat self, and he sounded pretty positive about my prospects for getting onto a project over there.  Sometimes I really appreciated many of the aspects of building software, and sometimes things were just a little slow or the business topics involved were not as engaging.  I know the chances of me once again enjoying 10-to-4 days are slim, but that’s ok.  I’d rather be working and fascinated than just itching to get out of there the whole time.  But I also have no desire to give 60-hour weeks away, either.  All of us are already too busy, and as Dan recently pointed out, we Generation Yers prefer a balance in our lives and want to spend our time on something meaningful. 

My real reason for making the phone call to him is that no casting agent has picked me up the way Edward Furlong got his start.  You think I’m kidding.  It could still happen while I’m working downtown!

6 Responses to “”

  1. I had a friend in high school that was always getting walk-on roles. It’s so possible.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    glad to have you back!

  3. i’m a week and a day of escaping the tangled mess of downtown…and not a moment too soon!

  4. it’s possible!

  5. All of us are already too busy
    How do we make a conscious effort not to fill our lives up? 

  6. Oh, and– hola to the Hueys!

Leave a Reply

