Hell and Houston are both freezing over

Just in time for freezing weather to blast us at the end of this week, the Rice Owls have been invited to their first bowl game in 45 years!  They got that gigantic stadium that can hold all alums (living and dead) after their last bowl game win in 1950, so if they triumph, it’ll be their first bowl win in 56 years. 

Never really visited New Orleans, but I don’t have to decide whether or not to go since I’ll already be out of the country on December 22nd.  Maybe all the Longhorns should carpool over there to help cheer (at least you know where this bowl game will be). 

11 Responses to “Hell and Houston are both freezing over”

  1. the title of this post made me chuckle. congrats rice! maybe they can teach baylor a thing or two about football……………

  2. Oh, I’m all about the Owls beating the Longhorns…Aggie remember?  Haha.  So you’re off to travel already huh?  Where are you headed this time?

  3. where are you going on the 22nd?

  4. I’ll be in ATL that day. I sure hope a lot of Rice fans go to cheer though!

  5. I’ll be cheering from San Jose.  Maybe Rice will be on ESPN!

  6. yay for the cold!!

  7. RYC: Ha, yeah well there is an explanation for that.  I mean, I do love Hawaii, but my family is not exactly in the habit of visiting there more than once a year…or even every year for that matter.  In fact, even though it was the second time this year, it was only the 3rd time I’ve ever been there.  I went for Thanksgiving this year because I was the maid of honor in my friend’s wedding.  She (Keiko) was my roommate in college and then she moved out to Hawaii to go to seminary and to be closer to home (which happens to be Japan).  She met her hubby there and then voila I was back in Hawaii for another wedding event.  Definitely no complaints. I was so glad to be able to go somewhere warm while it was cold here in Texas.  Cold does not exactly agree with me.  Warmth and sunshine however bring joy to my heart!  Hopefully I will be able to post pics from the wedding ceremony soon.  God’s presence there was so incredible!

  8. I’m taking four it seems. I’ll be driving with my wife and two youngest girls. It should be cool.But I got no interest in “partying” so I’ll drive home right after the game.

  9. So the KSBJ morning djs made some crack (like at 5:30) about Rice being in a bowl…and how they needed some shrimp to go with it.

Leave a Reply

