The 17 people at my new company know the following languages:

  1. English
  2. Gujarati
  3. Hindi
  4. Italian
  5. Kannada
  6. Mandarin
  7. Russian
  8. Sanskrit
  9. Spanish
  10. Tamil
  11. Telugu
  12. Urdu
  13. Valenciano
  14. Vietnamese

It’s really 13 and a half since the guy who knows Kannada speaks only enough to get into trouble with it.  He actually swore in as a U.S. citizen today after living here for about 16 years.  We have 3 women, one of whom is a single white vegetarian, another is a Russian, and the third is a married American.  Anyway, I’m glad I made the switch (it’s been over a month now), but I felt like making some semblance of a tribute to my last place of work, so here goes…

I snuck in late one night to take some photos of my floor.  This sign was right in front of my row. 

Out of some 200 people on the floor, only about half a dozen people who work at night were around. 

 

Later I got up the courage to take some pictures during the day…

So I got a shot of my team lead behind me…

As well as a shot of my neighbor.

Here’s my Italian-Brazilian manager with the folks who sit right in front of me.  He just swore in as a citizen, too! 

Trekking through the tunnels on our regular mid-afternoon Tuscany Coffee break.

The nearby Main Street fountains that I frequented for fresh air. 

Random people I don’t know. 

Making the rounds on my last day…

Saying my goodbyes to the smiling faces I’d look up whenever I needed a break.

And this is to reward those of you who’ve stuck with me thus far. 

I’ve decided to put aside my shame and go ahead and share this event with you.

Yes, I made this.  But I was volunteered for the job! 

Let’s just say that the frog toss competition wasn’t the most impressive event this social task force had done.

However, I was surprised at how many people visited us for a break during those 2 hours!

And an intern won the bucket of candy, too.  How’s that for a happy ending? 

Roland keeps the wall of the dearly departed. 

27 Responses to “”

  1. i love love love that pink kitchen…

  2. that kitchen is pink? I’m not sure why you described the three women you work with now like that….is there something odd or funny about that? ….I just don’t get it.

  3. yeah why did you describe the women like that? hmm..i’m with oatwoman on this one. Anywho, I’m glad you shared these pics/memories with us!

  4. 1. the kitchen looks purple on my computer… it probably has to do with lighting…. is it pink or purple in reality? either way I like it..
    2. ” the guy who knows Kannada speaks only enough to get into trouble with it. ” so is that like the national language of Canadians? and if so, I can understand how he would get in trouble with it….
    3. only 3 women… ya’ll must have been seriously deprived at social events…

  5. I would say the kitchen is Eggplant.

  6. so what are you doing now?  cool froggies.

  7. The kitchen is actually fuchsia. Kannada is a Dravidian language of India, not a Canadian one. And it’s at my current place of work that we only have 3 women, although back at JPMC I’ll bet it was proportionally the same. I’m still doing software development in Houston.

  8. The Kannada comment was a joke….

  9. i got it rach.

  10. LOL!  I love it.  And don’t wait until you leave your current job to share pictures.  Also, I think you should post phrases in each language every so often.  Reminds me of my friends from med school except I don’t know anyone who knows Valenciano.

  11. A lot of those languages are from Indian states (a little bit less than half?)…wow.  How did the Koreans get the shaft?
    *sniff*  So sad Angie and I didn’t get to see where you worked, although I guess it’s okay to see them in a photo entry of sorts. πŸ™‚  Going to lunch downtown with you was fun!

  12. Cool, a tribute to jpm. =) But no Korean i see on the list of languages! booh!

  13. Oh my, Stephen! The frog toss pics and info had me laughing out loud in my seat…literally. You da man!!!

  14. This post makes me think of the movie office space.  I’m proud of you guys for playing with those frogs.  That’s an awesome way to make the work day go faster πŸ™‚

  15. There is no shame in frog tossing.  I wish my coworkers were that much fun sometimes!!!  I need to do this.

  16. oh my goodness no! i just had to leave at that time. thank goodness.haha i love the frog toss! great idea!

  17. haha! thanks but that wasnt tonight. it was ny when we dressed up to be our other roommates “bodyguard” haha. good times. hows it goin?
    ur lookin cute in that pic with the bucket too. haha, cool pics too! i love how picture happy u r. more people need to be that way, u know?!?!?!? very cool πŸ™‚

  18. haha not entirely sure what that means. haha, houston…is that where u r? hahahah ok im tired

  19. ok, just answered my own question by lookin at ur profile metro thingy dealio πŸ™‚

  20. RYC: oh, c’mon, you know it’s funny.

  21. Also, btw I’m going to be in Houston this weekend.  If you and James do anything exciting let me know!

  22. cool!! i thought the picture with your forehead was hilarious.

  23. i just saw a comment you left on evenstar7’s xanga awhile back. yeah, i worked at the nehemiah center for 3 years. it was the best 3 years of my life. i loved it. i dont think i knew orin. and how do you know about nehemiah?

  24. wow… i want to come to a frog toss where people speak 17 different languages!!  that would definitely be the coolest frog toss of my life!

  25. Those are great pics.  I work with just a couple of people in total…and though it’s the only language they speak, they are really not very good at English.  The only culture I get at my office is that half-eaten, three-month-old yogurt in the shared ‘fridge.  To think that I just finished that off yesterday…

  26. where are you? I can’t remember the last time I saw you.

  27. ahhh. so you were on of the rice tutors. awesome!i started working there right out of high school..sept 99 and was there until july of 02. a bunch of us left because things started going downhill there. i started out with kindergarten, then had first and the last year i was with the middle school and high school kids. i still keep in touch with a lot of em. i bet we know some of the same kids.

Leave a Reply

