We interrupt our regular posting to provide this important bulletin:  modelling photos of my roommate have been posted here.  I have been disturbed.  End transmission.  You may now continue to the original post below…

Today, Slashdot has a discussion on a Houston Chronicle (wow, hundreds of thousands of people worldwide will read our paper today!) article about how people in the IT department are less likely to steal lunches, and about halfway down the page, I came across the following stories that readers provided. 

I was a victim of this, I find it just as bizarre as you. A couple of years back I met a friend at california pizza kitchen for lunch.. That day I only ate half my pizza, and brought the leftovers back to the office, thinking I’d stash them in the fridge and have lunch the following day. So the following day I arrive to work about 11:30am, and I walk in the break room and it smells of recently reheated pizza. I think “nah, no way” and head to my desk. About 2pm I head in for lunch, and sure enough 2 of the 3 slices that were in the CPK box are gone. I’m furious. Really mad. My name was plastered all over the box, it’s not like it could have happened accidentally. So I figured the culprit would eventually return for the last slice since they enjoyed the first two so much. Time was limited, so I did the best thing I could come up with on short notice. I took the pizza to my desk, and looked in the janitor’s closet for the nastiest industrial degreaser I could find. I took it back to my desk and REALLY soaked the pizza.. Sprayed it several times on the top and bottom over a period of half an hour so it’d REALLY get soaked in. My hope was the person wouldn’t notice it until they took the first bite. So I stash the whole thing back in the fridge.. Sure enough, the following morning I find the CPK box in the trash, and sitting on top of it the last slice with a single bite taken out of it. Revenge never felt so sweet, and I never had anything else stolen from the kitchen. 🙂 The bastard ruined my lunch, I felt pretty vindicated in ruining their snack.

This guys sounds like he’s from across the pond:

Had the same thing as a student. So I set up a pack of chocolate digestives (replaced the choccie ones with standard digestives coated with ex lax). Morning after, I came down to find the biscuits gone.
On the walk in to Uni, I discovered who it was that had been stealing the biscuits. And no, he didn’t make it to a lavatory in time.
My food was pretty much left alone after that.
The bit I found perplexing was that this chap was a hard core Christian (born again, I think). He was the last one I expected it to be..

 

And then this guy responded to the one above and decided to get a little deep:

 

A friend of mine works as a teacher at a private college and his observation is that the worst thieves (everything from simply stealing food to swiping scanners, computers, etc) are all kinda weirdo born-agains. His theory is that the greater someone’s propensity towards immoral behavior, the greater likelihood that they’ll seek some sort of organized system that in theory “forces” them to act morally. Just as one finds people with a hard-core capacity for drinking at an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting (which is all about NOT drinking), it’s not at all illogical to expect to find people with a tendency towards immoral behavior attracted to a very strict religious organization.

 

And this is pretty different, but I still thought it was an interesting anecdote:

 

Back in the 60s, the television store in my hometown in the Texas Panhandle was the top television store for that brand (I think it was RCA) in the nation in terms of market penetration. Nearly everyone around who had a television had that one brand.

One of the big stores in Chicago was impressed and sent an executive down to see if they could learn something they could use in Chicago. So he flew into Amarillo, met the district sales representative for that brand, and they got in the sales reps car and drove to the store a couple of hours away.

When they walked into the store about 11 am, they didn’t see anyone at all. They figured that maybe the employees were drinking coffee or something and so they waited.

Then they noticed a sign that said “If you see a tv you like, take it home and try it out”. Another sign instructed people bringing in a tv for repair to write down what was wrong with it and put the paper on the tv. Another sign said “If you brought your tv in for repair and you see it here, it is fixed. The repair cost is on the tag. Leave the money in the cigar box on the counter or sign the tag and leave it in the cigar box and we’ll bill you for it.”

About an hour after they arrived, one of the town’s more idle citizens walked into the store and they asked him where the owners were. He replied, “Oh, they’re out harvesting wheat. They should be back by 8 or 9 tonight to close the store for the night.”

The visitors figured that nothing that we did here would work at all in their Chicago stores.

16 Responses to “”

  1. Sometimes I wish people would eat my leftovers because I always forget/don’t feel like it and let them go bad.And I think you should print some poster size pics of James for your living room… you’ve been meaning to decorate, right?

  2. the girl in those pictures looks like aunt becky from full house.

  3. RYC: Ha, yes I guess a few people have commented on James’ expression, or lack therof.  However, that is why I love those pictures.  The contrast of his expressions with mine is so much fun.  They make me smile.  So, when are you coming up to get YOUR picture taken?  James told me about y’all’s walls and I think that roomie portraits are just what you need.  I’ll tell Sarah to have her camera ready…
    As for the news article excerpts, they are pretty interesting.  The pizza one really made me laugh and the chocolate one made me think of my grandfather.  When he was in his 20’s he had a good friend who used to always steal his candy at work.  Therefore, one day, he replaced his regular candy with laxative ones…well, you can guess what happened.  His friend certainly never stole his candy anymore!

  4. I love the last story.

  5. ….and your color choices match your Indian headdress feathers.

  6. The color choices matching my native American headdress feather choices was completely unintentional. And Jamie, I’ve been meaning to move, not redecorate! Although that’s kind of like redecorating…

  7. Yes, moving to the Heights is a good plan. I agree.Your roommate should get a xanga.. tons of fun.There was a major prank in my freshman dorm involving chocolate laxatives. Funny stuff..

  8. i would so do that to the pizza too. i’ll have to remember that.

  9. maybe it’ll ruin the party, but i must disagree… i don’t like what the person did to the pizza. that’s really wicked and cold-blooded… and the “culprit” could have had a really bad reaction, ala poison control hotline or emergency room. i could agree with justice in so much as discovering the criminal via some kind of stakeout or other investigatory manner… or is this one of those “let him have your cloak as well” situations (although i admit i would have a real hard time). but personally, i find the de-greaser, and laxatives also, to reveal a vengefullness that bothers me. that was my first reaction, not because i reasoned myself into it, but because that is what i felt.

  10. Love the last story!  Could you imagine??! 
    And as for the pizza, syrupPlease, I do agree that it may have been a bit too much … but I can totally understand doing it.  Maybe something not quite so poisonous … like salt or sugar or something to make it taste gross, but not be dangerous!

  11. the pink paragraph is a very interesting thought..

  12. Well, it’s not that you didn’t make the cut, it’s just that I don’t have any of the pictures from the next weekend when you guys came.  Those were from when we went to Schlitterbahn.  Actually, now that you mention it, I need to get those other pictures from Lori.  Did you take any pictures that weekend?

  13. IT people are too busy pirating software and dvds to worry about stealing from the fridge

  14. I’ve had my lunch stolen or thrown away at least three times in my couple of years working downtown. Of course, the people I work with are so old maybe they can’t read the “POISON!! DO NOT EAT” warnings on my box. Drat. I’m probably going to have to come up with a new strategy.

  15. Did I tell you that at Bonnie’s office, someone ate her co-worker’s leftover lunch? 
    Her co-worker brought homemade pork chops, mashed potatoes, and green beans for her lunch.  Around 10:30am she went into the lounge for a break and smelled something familiar.  She looked in the fridge and saw that someone had the same lunch bag as she did…or so she thought.  It was open, so she got suspicious, took a peek in, and saw that her pork chop was missing!  Someone took just her pork chop (nothing else), microwaved it, ate it, and threw the remains in the trash can.  Who eats a pork chop at 10 in the morning?!  Especially when it’s someone else’s leftovers?

  16. I have to say the comments on christians are interesting, and i hoep in a sense correct. We are the people who know we need help and are not yet perfect.

Leave a Reply

