Days of long ago

My grandmother has told me about how they used to travel by train in
Texas.  She grew up about 90 miles south of Houston, and sometimes
they would visit relatives over in the hill country (less than 200
miles away), and it would be an all-day trip by car!  But before
they had cars they rode on the trains.  Her slightly older
sister-in-law once told me that most of the rural Texan farmers around
here still didn’t have cars in the 30s, so her future husband was
coming over to her parents’ house on horseback to court her. 

Last weekend, my cousin Taylor got married at his mom’s and stepdad’s
near a town coincidentally called Taylor (they didn’t grow up around
there).  It’s a little east of Austin.  As you can see, there
was a bit of a 1930s theme going on…

Props to liz and megan for dressing me!

Grandma Schimek.  Her mother, a Hejtmanek, made this dress back in
the 30s.  Note the hundred-year old Bartlett Volunteer Fire
Department fire truck in the background. 

People came to Stars Over Texas Ranch from near and far…

Here are some cousins in front of the log cabin that was just built in 2000. 

We were waiting awhile for the accordion player to get there from Austin…

But he was too late, so we all hummed Here Comes the Bride as the ladies walked up!

The ceremony was captivating nonetheless. 

Then we had a picnic!

Fortunately they found the good stuff. 

We had some real longhorns come up to the back porch during the dessert and toasting time. 

They had cupcakes instead of wedding cake. 

Austinites. 

And they’re off! 

15 Responses to “Days of long ago”

  1. RYC: Haha, thanks for the compliment on the post.  I’d say we have quite a bit of fun. πŸ˜‰  Yeah, I’m College Station.  Crazy huh?  I sure never guessed that one day I would be an Aggie.  Whoop! πŸ˜‰  Anyway, next week is going to be fun crazy stuff.  J and A are coming to stay in CS for a couple of days and hang out with my friends up here.  Then, we’ll go back to Houston Thursday or Friday and stay at my parents’ place.
    Those are some cool pics from the wedding.  I’ve never seen one like that before.  That’s so unique!  I’ll have to come back and look at some of your photos from your trip.  James was telling me about them.
    See you later!

  2. I love your pics! I haven’t seen ya’ in a while. Take care!

  3. wow, that must have been such an awesome wedding!

  4. Yay!!!!!!!! You fit in perfectly with the cute old peeps.. and I like the picnic close-up that shows off the argyle socks — nice touch!

  5. what a great idea for a wedding!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    yeah. i’m with sommer on that. makes me feel like a trip to west for some kolaches to go with that czech lager!

  7. highwater effect=totally awesome

  8. This is TOTALLY AWESOME~~!!

  9. oh man,  that’s such a cute wedding!  I agree… you look quite dashing in your 1930’s gear πŸ™‚

  10. I so would have loved coming to this wedding. It’s not every day that I get to wear my spats.

  11. thats pretty much the most original things i’ve ever seen/heard of for a wedding. its awesome! very cool how everyone dressed the part so well too!!! no one will forget that! pretty much ever.

  12. Wow – I might have to steal this idea!  You look fabu!

  13. really! that is truely awesome! how fun…
    fogo is great. it was our second time to go. and it will probably be another 3 years before we get to go back. haha. but yes, still fabulous and yummy. and as great as their salad bar is, i still ate too much meat. i’m on a red meat fast for a few days. i don’t even want to look at the stuff.

  14. That looks like so much fun.

Leave a Reply

