Per request, I’m including a recipe for hummus down below.  Tweak
the zesty bits according to your taste (I’m partial to lots of garlic).  I haven’t made any in a
long time, but tonight I did bake some squirrels and eat a couple of
them.  No kidding.  They’re lean, and remind me of
duck, or maybe frogs.  About ten years ago, my grandpa got so annoyed with them
messing with stuff in his yard that he started using traps my little
brother built to get rid of them.  Eventually, he got tired of
taking them to the park and releasing them, so….yeah, they ate ’em
when my grandparents were kids.

Here’s one of my favorite photos that I’ve taken.  Note that there
was no digital manipulation involved nor any camera tricks–this is
just how it came out:

For a couple of you out there who know him, that’s Justin, and we were
in Kansas at the time.  The hummus recipe below is actually from
Justin’s wife.  Here’s how he gave it to me: 

It's J here.  I've got Krista's recipe for hummus:

2 cups chickpeas (you can used canned chickpeas and can get them anywhere)

2 large garlic cloves

4-6 T lemon juice

2 T olive oil

3 T tahini paste (ground sesame seed paste)

1/2 t ground cumin

1/2 t salt

1/2 cup plain yogurt

Drain the liquid from the chickpeas and mix everything together in
a blender or food processor.  Krista said that if you want to
make enough for twenty people, you would want to triple everything in
the recipe.  She also said it lasts up to a week in the
fridge.  The tahini paste is sometimes hard to find, but
we've been able to get it at Krogers.   Hope it turns out
well.

18 Responses to “”

  1. That picture is pretty great…although it has me yelling in my head, “REPENT SINNER!”
    Alterfire and I enjoyed some nice hummus just last night. Are you familiar with Zatar?

  2. did you ask Him today?

  3. now is as good a time as any. He’ll be pleased you did. night.

  4. the article said that it’s an arabic spice…no, no, no…no offense meant, but it’s Jewish. Anyway, my hummus is always seasoned with Zatar and a dash of chili powder.

  5. you seriously ate a squirrel?? wOw. maybe you BELONG across the atlantic. haha

  6. That tree became so infested with squirrels that you guys had to burn ’em out, eh?  Or is that just how they’re BBQ’d?  Roasted in their own juices (and home). 
    That picture is rad. 

  7. Anonymous Says:

    thank you thank you thank you for the recipe!

  8. Anonymous Says:

    you ate a squirrel?have you seen my latest post?

  9. squirrels.. wow.. could’ve missed that one if it weren’t for that second read.. 🙂

  10. Yeah, and you had to prompt me what you wrote in that paragraph above the picture and the hummus recipe, hehe.  I had totally forgotten you had written about squirrel.

  11. I get the Hebrew from my mom’s side of the family, but was raised Christian. So instead of accepting Yeshua as the messiah, I got to have the revelation that it’s cool to have some Jew. I still grew up knowing all about the Jewish Feasts, however. And to answer your question, I really don’t know any Messianics personally in Houston. Ask your friend if they’ve read the book, “The Mountains of Israel”? Zola Levitt’s #1 recommended read for Mezzies.

  12. Can you get us some.
    I have always wanted to try
    not sure what Purple Cat means about side of the atlantic though

  13. I don’t think she meant your homeland is full of squirrel-eaters, just that we might want an ocean between us and Stephen if he’s prone to devouring small mammals for fun.

  14. yes that is what i meant.

  15. where are you now?

  16. have a fun trip! we’ll be prayin’…

  17. i like your wink. 😉

Leave a Reply

