Houston Marathon 2006

It was quite painful later on, but I made it to the end.  On
Sunday, 2 Brits
and I joined over 17,000 other people in getting up early to run in the
marathon and half marathon.  Things
got off to a great start, but shortly after, our only experienced
comrade had to stop for a bit to check on his knee, so Robert and I
kept on without him.  I guess I pushed too hard, because we were
making a great 4:10 pace after being slowed down by the crowds in the
first 4 miles, but by Memorial Park, Robert was flying on without me,
and I
was
cramping and stretching and walking and jogging in an endless
cycle.  Every step was painful, but I did finally limp into
downtown and finish the full 26.2 miles!  As of Thursday morning,
my legs were officially no longer
sore.  Oh, and the really amazing bit is that Jo ran on and
finished the marathon with an injury, but you’ll have to get the full
story from him. 

I have to mention that it was fun to unexpectedly see tons of people I
knew on the sidelines.  For a while, the half marathon runners
were merged with us, and I said hi to a girl I knew who was running
alongside me, and then I saw her cheering on the sidelines on
University Blvd, so she must have rushed home as soon as her run was
over!  Thanks to all of you who cheered for me and gave me
bananas–you know who you are. 

The Houston Marathon website
has a pretty cool feature.  There’s a link on the main page that
lets you enter someone’s name and watch video of them crossing the
finish line!  That’s where you can also find the link to look up
pictures of people you know. 

And I just HAVE to mention that a 31-year-old mother in the Houston
Vineyard ran the whole thing in less than 3 hours and placed 15th out
of all the women! 

Jo, Robert and I before dawn:

Robert and I after we lost Jo:

All done with Kathryn, who was visiting from San Francisco to run her 2nd marathon:

Lots to talk about that night, and enjoying getting to sit down:

 

 

21 Responses to “”

  1. excellent job, man

  2. I salute you! Maybe next time Stephen Huey.

  3. mad respect to you marathon runners who finish! i think it goes without say that people with such dedication and persistance = way cool!!! you have to give details on this run ~ 26.2 miles of pure physical output … yeah, that’s awesome!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    amazing feat.

  5. wow a marathon! good job.

  6. Good job man, that’s awesome!! I want to run a marathon someday. It’s on my list of things to do before I die.

  7. yea! way to go…what an amazing thing. from what i hear, there’s no better feeling than crossing that finish line. congratulations!

  8. Congratulations for being among the top 3% of athletes in the world (for even entering a marathon), and among the top 1% for actually finishing! I lay laurels at your feet!

  9. Wow…that last comment was mine…how it ended up with xa’s pic, I have NO IDEA!

  10. Hmmm…this is totally strange…this is thejae…how her pic is showing up on MY entries, is beyond me!

  11. Yay, go Stephen! I went to the website and saw you on the finishing line cam. Intense!

  12. Got the video to work. Props for living up to your Xanga name!

  13. Good Job!
    Sorry to see how Fat I lokk in your last picture.
    Sorry we missed you running

  14. good for you, good for you!!!!

  15. i can’t believe you’re still running…mad props for you

  16. Glad you like that pic. It’s part of a subliminal story I’m telling. Keep watching.

  17. Stephen…2 questions. 1) have you watched the most amazing movie of the year?2) did you like it?

Leave a Reply

