On Sunday afternoon I hung out at Baba Yega
with some old friends from out of town who feel as if they’re from a
wildly different era of my life.  So strangely detached from all I
live now…took a nap on the couch when I went home and woke up just
after the sun dipped low enough to leave a dark grey sky, so I suddenly
felt incredibly lonely as if the world had passed me by.  Emotions
can be so powerful!  Unexpectedly talked to a friend later that
evening about living in community, among other things–that
helped. 

But that wasn’t what I was really going to post about.  I also
wasn’t *really* going to post anything about the New Year’s skiing
picture you can see below.  What I really wanted to post about is
this:

Once upon a time I wanted to ride a horse, and after countless hours of
comparison shopping online, I decided to try out a particular stable on
the south end of Houston (because they were charging the least, AND
there was a $5 off coupon).  I can’t even remember the name of the
guy or the place right now (but I think the “place” bore his name, e.g.
Sam’s Place or something like that), but I do remember driving into the
area and wondering how there would be horses there.  Sure enough,
the guy had a big enough yard to have a few in there, and we both
saddled up and walked around the neighborhood for an hour or so (just
walking, as it was a beginner lesson).  Nothing too crazy, except
when I got kinda nervous because some dogs started chasing us, but the
old thing I was riding didn’t seem too concerned. 

Ok, so I’m prepared for the point of this whole post.  You
ready?  When we were done, he mentioned something about getting me
his card or whatever, and he handed me about 5 or 6 playing
cards!  I never have figured out the point of that.  Any
ideas?  I kept them in my glove compartment for the longest
time.  Interesting example of how some things that are so mundane
can be so weird in that context. 

Oh, and here’s that photo…

13 Responses to “”

  1. What a beautiful sight. The mountains, not the dude.

  2. Do you still have the cards?  If they didn’t have anything to do with his business, that’s just odd.  Funny, but odd.
    And man, what great photographer took that picture?

  3. I like this phrase: ..woke up just after the sun dipped low enough to leave a dark grey sky, so I suddenly felt incredibly lonely as if the world had passed me by..Lovely writing.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I think it was a gimmick, the playing cards… jut a way he thought you might think he was funny, remember him, and come back for another ride.  Anything to get business, you know?

  5. I’m not sure about that…I was trying to read him, but he seemed totally serious when he handed them to me. Real friendly guy. I think I finally tossed the cards after a year or so.

  6. Let me know when you go the horse riding thing next time. Haven’t done that before.

  7. Maybe they were lucky cards and he shared them with you.

  8. Cool photo! Also, thanks for appreciating our Christmas card…it seems you were the only one who agreed with us that it was funny. šŸ™‚

  9. where were you skiing? And maybe the cowboy is looking for a poker mate.

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Awwww, that is so cute… if he was truly TRULY sincere with those cards, then!!!  LOL…

  11. i think diana and i went to that same place to ride.  i wanna go next time too!

  12. Anonymous Says:

    uh oh, beware the blue/black diamond!

  13. i would love to ride a horse.  thats one of those things that i always think i would love to do again but never seriously commit.  i got bucked off once, but it somehow didn’t deter me.  anywho, ditto to meger’s comment.  emotions can sometimes be too powerful.  overpowering, and i often feel powerless against them.  consuming.  especially the yucky ones.

Leave a Reply

