I should be in bed, but I think I laid down before 6 pm, and then after
a friend called me at 10:30, I haven’t been back to sleep since. 
I wanted to wait a good week or two before posting, because I think my
topics have been so blah, but at this late hour I’m suddenly feeling
spunky enough to share some interesting driving experiences with you
after a conversation I had last night.  Mind you, these are the
car stories that I feel like I *can* share about…

1.  Riding in the front passenger seat with Ryan Truxton in Jos,
Nigeria:   he was crossing the street into our high school, and
there was a car coming.  Everything seemed to be in slow motion,
and he decided that we wouldn’t make it and started turning us to go
straight, but then he thought we would and turned back toward the
school gate, and then he thought better of it again and tried to
straighten up, so by the time this car hit us, we were at a 45 degree
angle in the road and it slammed into the front ride side ahead of the
wheel (so I wasn’t crushed or anything like that).  We both
slammed into a culvert, and I found myself face-to-face with an angry
driver. 

2.  Also in Nigeria, but out in the middle of nowhere with my
mom:  the right tire ended up on the dirt shoulder, and then the
road suddenly rose up 6 inches from the shoulder, and I tried to get
back up onto it and due to some overcompensating back and forth, we
ended up pulling a 270-degree turn and skidded.  There was only
one car as far as the eye can see, and we barely missed it!  My
legs were shaking so bad I had to get out and walk around the car and
let my mother drive. 

3.  In the Great 2004 Snowstorm of Southeast Texas, I was driving
to my grandparents’ house late at night at about 50 miles per hour
through tracks in the snow and suddenly there were no more tracks and
it was all snow snow snow everywhere aaaaaahhhhh and I was spinning and
watching and waiting for the end to come–it was like an amusement park
ride or something, and I had this feeling that all I could do was sit
back and watch because nothing would help stop the spinning.  All
so quick, and yet it seemed so long:  720-degree spin, I
think.  No cars in sight, completely flat land (even the ditches),
and only one tree as far as I could see, but I didn’t hit it! 

4.  Upset about a girl (see below), and I had just seen Star Wars
II where Anakin is flying fast on all these cool hovercraft and he
angrily kills the whole camp of those bad guys who killed his mother,
AND I was running late AND I had sat for a whole hour in construction
traffic around the Woodlands, so there were TONS OF EMOTIONS flowing
through me all at once (hard to believe, I know)…I made it to Dallas
in a couple of hours.  Well, not exactly.  I got stopped on
45 when passing through some town that had jurisdiction over the
freeway about 15 minutes south of Dallas.  “Are you on drugs?” was
the first question out of this angry officer’s mouth.  They had 3
cop cars parked behind me, and had clocked me at 97 in a 65 (in my
brother’s stickshift Focus hatchback).  “Don’t you know I can take
you to jail right now?”  I told him I was sorry–really, I didn’t
know they were following me for 3 miles!  He added on Failure to
Signal Lane Change as well, so the grand total came to over $400. 
I spent 8 hours driving up there and back to Houston just to go to
court. 

5.  In college in the USA, 70 mph on a highway in the middle of
the night:  I glanced at the road every once in a while,
occasionally terrified that I might run my brother’s stickshift Pontiac
Sunfire off of it at any moment.  However, I’m not sure it’s
possible to enjoy more electrifying kissing than in a situation like
that.  To this day, it baffles my mind that our lips were enough
to allay the fear of death for those few minutes that seemed to last
forever.  

I’ve had a more interesting run-in with some policemen, but I don’t
know if I’ll share about that one this side of heaven, so ask me
then. 

23 Responses to “”

  1. and you’re still alive HOW?

  2. KISSING AND DRIVING!!!? Why not park?

  3. i’ve done a 140mph down the autobahn in germany headed to austria and flew through the sands of iraq in a hummer…could tell stories but for now they are between God and i. it’s always a learning experience driving in foreign countries, sometimes fun, sometimes a little crazy!!

  4. “clocked me at 97 in a 65 through some town that had jurisdiction over the freeway about 15 minutes south of Dallas” Ennis? Man!..when I got stopped there, speed limit was 55..aren’t you the lucky one?

  5. You seem to spin a lot. My suggestion: make sure you are always driving the bigger car.I was already a crazy driver when I moved to Houston…so, the freeways and I got along great, although it was a dangerous affair. After living there for about six months, this prophet guy at a church called me out on it. What was really funny, was the fact that the ywam team I was with had been teasing me about my recklessness on the way to the service that night. Coincidence? I obey the speed limit now.

  6. wow, i’m never getting in a car with you.

  7. ha. ha. ha. you have no idea, i’m rolling on the floor … especially because of #5 … especially since i did that a few times this one day – only this boy closed his eyes, and i told him to keep his eyes on the road! hilarious … fortunately, no accident though, because i’d showed him enough rage for him to keep one eye on those guiding lines … and is there no way to persuade you to share the last story with a fellow mk ~ heee … and to one who’s also had many run-ins with the police (mostly driving related).

  8. ps. definitely had to search on xanga for an antidote – a random girl had posted instructions which i eagerly followed to get rid of the blasted virus. the sad part is – how people even second-guessed whether i wrote the thing or not. tsk. anyway, yay for technology? isn’t this sort of thing in your line of work? what HAVE you been doing with yourself, anyway?

  9. the moral of this story is: if you ever think of getting in the car with huey, think again. and naija, kissing can be electrifying anywhere-even when you aren’t jeopardizing your life and the life of the one you love. be careful with yourself. people care about you, silly.

  10. I feel like I’m going to have to post a disclaimer about how the particularly scary events were all many years ago. And smithern–not that you’re going to read this again–I hardly consider 2 spins in 6 years to be a lot of spinning. 🙂

  11. Wow, I never knew you were such a daredevil! (I guess the video you posted of yourself diving off that big cliff should have been a clue…)

  12. but in your defense the roads and other drivers in nigeria aren’t exactly the easiest to navigate…i’ve hit a couple of chickens on the way to miango

  13. You want a comment?  Here’s a comment:
    Oh, LORD….

  14. You kissed someone while you were driving?  What?

  15. kissing and driving is a great idea.

  16. cosmo, are you propositioning naija? yikes!

  17. Well I think I am glad that I never had a car that young of my own or I would have simular stories. I commited my self to risking it all in a plastic boat.
    Growing up is a good thing in some ways.
    And no I have never got a ticket.

  18. hello person from texas. do we know each other?

  19. please post pictures with snow…i want to see and hear more, sounds like a fun trip

  20. dude, whatever. Those are all lies. Someone told me you were interested in helping out with Youth Sunday School. Let me know if you can help! later

Leave a Reply

