Saturday Night


Over 7 years in Houston, and I’ve never heard of the annual Art Crawl before.  I had imagined driving myself from some remote warehouse with a few pieces of art to some other random, hard-to-find gallery in another part of the city, and that didn’t sound entertaining at all.  If I’d known that it would actually be fun, I would’ve tried to get a bunch of folks to go.  It didn’t quite feel like I was in Houston.  It’s true that the warehouses north of downtown looked familiar, but all the people walking the streets from gallery to gallery dressed in everything from sweatshirts to sportcoats made it feel like a real event unlike anything I’ve encountered in this city.  We went really late, so we didn’t have time to see much before things settled down around 9, but we did ride the free trolleys and buses that were taking people from the Dakota Lofts area to the various other clumps of galleries and studios that welcomed the visitors crowding through their doors with wine and cheese and crackers and cookies.  The little glossy maps they had printed out also added to the “real event” feeling because they were like something you’d get in an amusement park or some other city that has genuine touristy things worth printing out a map for! 


I ended at the studio of Francis Jacquinet from the Vineyard, and I bumped into Reg while there.  Francis is a good painter and sculptor, but he teaches culinary arts, and some of his students had made some pretty exquisite chocolate confections that resembled the wares of a Godiva shop.  It was fun talking to 3 of the other teachers from the Art Institute that were hanging out on his patio–I felt like they were straight out of a movie.  For a couple of them, I think I would’ve guessed they were some big middle-aged programmers instead of having anything to do with the art world. 


A Bosnian guy from work was having a party at his 4-story Midtown condo that surprisingly turned out to be only 3 blocks from where I live.  Apparently, he had finally got in some table that completed the furniture throughout the house, so he was ready for a housewarming party.  It felt like a scene out of the 21st century version of The Great Gatsby.  I don’t like that book, so I’m not sure that’s what I mean.  But this place looked like something out of a magazine, and despite being so amazing, I felt like there was so much emptiness, both with the place and in the people.  It was definitely a cultural experience for me, not at all because some of the girls were Rumanian and Bulgarian, but rather because of the way all these people around the age of 30 acted, how much of an image everyone was working on portraying. 


I was talking to some guys for a while, and they laughed at me in disbelief when I told them that I’d gotten all my furniture for free from friends and family.  They knew I worked with the host, so I couldn’t do anything to convince them I was serious.  I had my suspicions about these guys, and eventually I went back to get another drink and this Mexican girl who had been avoiding talking to me finally spoke to me back there.  One of the guys I’d been talking to was her brother, and I’d thought she was avoiding me since her fiancee was there, but the first thing she asked me was, “So, are you straight, or what?”  She was surprised to find out I was, so we had a good discussion about that.  I mentioned it to another guy from work, and he was like, “Yeah, because you were talking to a bunch of gay guys.”  I was pretty conscious about the way I was carrying myself and responding, etc, especially when I had started wondering and one guy was giving me some eery looks, so it’s kind of interesting how people would still assume I was.  Maybe they get so freaked out themselves of being thought gay when they’re not that they’d hardly bother to pay attention. 


While there, I was talking to a couple of guys from Florida who were friends with a guy from work, and one of them started saying, “You look really familiar….Hey, were you at that Rockets-Magic game?  You were the guy up on the Jumbotron!”  He turned to his friend and explained that I was the guy they saw doing some crazy stuff up on the big screen.  That recognition alone was worth going to the party to hear. 


A bunch of people hit the clubs later and were supposedly coming back, and apparently some special girls would be arriving later, but I bailed out of there by 2:30 and made the long, 40-second drive back to my house. 


 

16 Responses to “”

  1. Hahaha!! Sounds like it WAS fun!!!  Chocolate confections!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ooohhhh yummy…. congratulations on your moment of fame!  you’re gonna live forever!

  2. I’ve always thought you were hiding some kind of glamorous lifestyle from us and this proves my theory.

  3. One day I will be ready for a housewarming party, but before then everyone will have been to my house 2490 times (except spot_of_tea).
    No way!  That’s awesome that someone recognized you from the game!
    One of the guys I’d been talking to was her brother, and I’d thought she was avoiding me since her fiancee was there, but the first thing she asked me was, “So, are you straight, or what?”
    That is some Classic Huey right there.

  4. haha!  sounds like good times!

  5. Matt, I’m not sure how to interpret/react to that last statement, but I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt.  And don’t feel bad about the delay on housewarming…this guy has had his posh pad for a year, but he couldn’t bear to have people see his collection of furniture and decor without that one last nondescript table to make the place perfectly complete.  I don’t want to guess how much it cost…the $2600 wooden picnic-like-table that sits in the rain out on the balcony patio was nothing special, but he apparently didn’t mind shelling out too much for it. 

  6. could you describe exactly what you mean by “some special girls”? i’m confused. 🙂

  7. um, no, please don’t explain that!

  8. Thanks for woooo hooooo earlier!!! Gosh I love Houston and miss it. North Carolina is wayyyy to slow for anyone under the age of lets sayyyy ummmm 65.

  9. Lizzz – *beeeeeep*Naija – I just meant that only you could get yourself into a situation like that. Craziness seems to follow you. Don’t worry, I didn’t mean that people often question your sexual preference upon meeting you.

  10. hahahahahahahaha – Matt’s funny

  11. Stud, perhaps if you’d kept your shirt on, no one would have had to ask that magic question. 
    Recognized from a Jumbotron.  How romantic.

  12. oh my gosh stephen, it is such a stephen-thing that (1) you were on the jumbotron and (2) that guy recognized you! classic! i started laughing out loud here at my computer reading that.by the way, next time i see you, i want a re-enactment of the jumbotron. i can never quite picture what “going wild” means.

  13. When Floridians remember you by your crazy actions, you know you did a good job.

  14. Hey Stephen, who are you trying to kiss in your picture?

  15. Or are you snorting!!!

  16. Is that really you? It looks more like Ashton Kutcher on a bad hair day!

Leave a Reply

