If someone had been shivering outside our house last night as Houston’s first genuinely cold autumn winds blew down our street, they would’ve heard 3 guys discussing their struggles over how exactly God desires to heal and prosper us and the timing of how that does or doesn’t happen in our fallen world.  Right before snuggling up under my warmest blanket around midnight, my roommate brought in a guy about our age that he’d just met on our street corner and needed a place to sleep for the night.  


When I awoke to bright sunlight and temperatures in the 40s, everything felt fresh and new, and the city felt like a different place as I made my way to work.  To celebrate, I bought coffee for the first time in a while–not once, but twice today I purchased a peppermint mocha to medicate the sore throat and light sickishness that starting bugging me on Saturday.  A consultant who flew in from Chicago joked about all the scarves he was seeing. 


The day had already felt refreshingly different enough before a portion of my team made an expedition down to the med center to visit our manager, an Indian man who is genuinely appreciated so much that multiple people have asked me repeatedly if there are openings on my team.  He’d been feeling woozy sometime on Sunday (a week ago), and the doctors figured everything out so quickly that the next day his skull was already being opened.  Apparently, the very middle top part of his head was about the best (least tricky) place to have a brain tumor.  We met his wife in the room, and they were already getting ready to take him home!  Soon he’ll begin radiation treatments, and he expects to be back in the office in about a month, just in time for several applications to begin their respective rollouts to production. 


I felt that our little expeditionary band of programmers looked like a rather cute troupe, what with a couple of Chinese women and a young Pakistani guy and two Indian men and me.  I’m sure we caught the attention of riders on the light rail, but the sight of a rather large sleeping man whose belly was hanging out of his shirt was probably more eye-catching, although most people diverted their gaze immediately since he was drooling heavily.  I was praying over him and the young woman near us who looked as though she’d also journeyed from downtown to visit a loved one in the hospital.  When I asked her, she told me how her father seemed to be doing well after his double bypass.  I remembered how long it had taken my dad to recover from his a few years ago, and how he had mentioned that our bodies find it pretty shocking to be opened up. 


8:30.  As much as I enjoy looking at xanga on these two huge LCD monitors, there’s almost no one else in the building, so I figure it’s high time to get out of here and go buy some milk.  Wait a sec–someone’s phone is ringing.  I could so go and answer it right now and say something outrageous to the caller.  Aw man, it stopped. 

10 Responses to “”

  1. nice account of a gorgeous day

  2. Sorry about that scratchy throat – I can most certainly relate. Peppermint mocha sounds like the perfect medication.PS – it makes me happy that you shared your house with a stranger 🙂

  3. I’ll definitely be praying for your boss…. what happened with the guy that y’all had in to spend the night?? He was your age?  My mom would’ve killed me if I had done that.  And my brother, and his wife, and her mom too.  And my dad.

  4. Yesterday’s weather had the very same effect on me up in Alabama. Then, I remembered that my grandmother in Naples was recovering from shingles and without power from Wilma. Ugh.
    I would have liked to hear your discussion on healing, our pastor talked about it on Sunday. I hadn’t really thought about the fact that I too struggled to understand why some get healed and some don’t.
    Try this for your sore throat…get a spoonful of cayenne (sp?) pepper and smother it in honey. Down that sucker. It’ll kill the virus and the honey will make sure you don’t swear in the process. My mom used to do this to me when I was little, and I have used it on my girls…it always works.

  5. The young guy was our age, and he left the next morning.  As for my sore throat, my mother’s remedy of gargling salt water about 10 times really helped a lot (and almost immediately).  I also had some plain honey at some point, but I haven’t tried the cayenne pepper yet (and now I’m feeling almost all the way well). 

  6. so, was the girl impressed? Surely adding the stud part helped .

  7. What a prolific writer you are, Steven. Thanks for sharing your thoughts in a creative way.

  8. Don’t despair – your neighborliness didn’t go unnoticed. As for those sketchy photos… ha ha.

  9. that’s cool that you’re a pray’n man…

  10. Smithern is right about the cayenne pepper, although I’ve never heard of taking it that way…we just add it to water and gargle it, and then swallow a little bit so it goes where gargling doesn’t reach. Take that you swollen glands! I’ll have to try the honey next time. Such pleasent conversation. *laughing*

Leave a Reply

