Where to begin?  I had weddings the past 2 weekends:  one in
Raleigh and the other was an Indian wedding dinner at a restaurant here
in Houston called Ashiana. 

The guy getting married in North Carolina was an old buddy of mine from
Nigeria, and we ended up having a great reunion because so many old MK
friends made it to the wedding.  I met some of them back in the
80s, and honestly, I consider a few of these guys to be my closest
friends to this day, so it’s always great to see them. 

The wedding here in Houston was also for a friend of mine from Nigeria
who was supposed to get married last March, but she called it off 2
days before since she wasn’t ready, and then quietly married in June
and decided to have the wedding dinner in August.  Preeti played
my wife in Father of the Bride during our senior year of high school,
and after going to school at Tufts in Boston she made her way down here
to work for an oil company.  FINALLY someone moved close to
me–most of my 37 high school classmates are in the northeast, and none
of them are in Texas or any of the surrounding states since Preeti just
left for a 2-year stint in Kazakhstan! 

Anyway, if you’re interested in seeing some cool Indian dancers or just
random pictures in general, both of the photo albums are linked off my
homepage, along with my younger (only) brother’s wedding website that I
just finished hand-coding in my spare time in the past several weeks:
http://www.stephenhuey.com/

And tonight…just got done hanging out with an Indian guy.  We
had vegetarian Indian food on Hillcroft and then milkshakes at
Sonic–go figure.  But most importantly, we had several hours of
excellent conversation.  He has concerns since he’s on an H1 visa
and losing his job would mean he’d have to leave the country within 15
days if he didn’t find another one, and despite times of uncertainty,
I’m not sure I’ve ever experienced any quite like that. But I’m not
worried about him losing his job. 

You see, he was hired to replace me before I left my old job, and
believe me, they NEED him…moreover, he’s very good at what he does,
which is equivalent to the jobs of 2 or 3 people.  I knew the odds
seemed slim of finding a strong replacement, and I’m sure my boss was
concerned, but I prayed and God definitely did deliver. 

Now, Harmeet agrees that God has taken very good care of him. 
When he got accepted to a small college in north Texas, he showed up
not knowing anyone.  Some people at the airport noticed he seemed
lost and gave him a ride, and he ended up staying with them until he
found lodging, and then he sometimes worked 100 hours per week paying
part of his way through school (to help keep down the massive
loans).  God has come through for him a million times over, and he
agrees to that.  He doesn’t believe in the Sikh religion that his
parents do, but he does believe in God.  However, he just believes
he can only know that little bit of God that he does know, and he
figures everyone else makes up what they say they know about God. 
We had to cut our conversation short at midnight since his dad called
from India. 

As for me, things are pretty good.  My parents will be coming from
Ghana for the month of September (since my bro is getting married), so
I’m hoping to hang out with them some–maybe every weekend.  But
one thing I’m pretty sure about, and hope to be 100% true, and that is
that I’m waking up…finally…I’m ready for action…

7 Responses to “”

  1. “ready for action”? looks like we’ll be on the edge of our seats til your next post…

  2. And I forgot to mention that as I was coming home after midnight last night, I was driving up 610 and my car completely shut off, so I hobbled up a freeway hill and came to a stop and eventually got it to start again. It’s been doing that lately, but not usually when I’m going 88 mph. I mean 70. Or is it supposed to be 65 there?

  3. Stephen! I think it’s time to get someone to look at your car! Seriously. That kinda suprise could really hamper your “ready for action”ness.

  4. Stephen!  Why do you go to bed so late, and why are you up so early?!

  5. Stephen is really a robot, you didn’t know?Heh, I couldn’t find the links to the pictures, then I used IE instead of Firefox and wha-lah! Looks like fun!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Ok, you’re half-African.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Waking up… Ready for action… I love it.

Leave a Reply

